Joshua - EinheitsÜbersetzung der Heiligen Sc
The Book of Joshua derives its name from the successor of Moses, with whose deeds it is principally concerned. The purpose of the book is to demonstrate God's fidelity in giving to the Israelites the land he had promised them for an inheritance (Genesis 15:18-20; Joshua 1:2-4; 21:41-43; 23:14-16). Their occupation of the country is begun with the crossing of the Jordan and the conquest of Jericho (Jos 1-6), in both of which the Lord intervenes on their behalf. This is followed by a first foothold on the Palestinian mountain range, at Ai, Bethel, and Gibeon (Jos 7-9), and two sweeping campaigns against the city states in the south of the country (Jos 10) and in the north (Jos 11), with a summary in Jos 12. The broad claim to total sovereignty thus established is spelled out by a combined list of tribal boundaries and of the towns contained within each area or administrative district (Jos 13-19), including cities of asylum and cities for the Levites (Joshua 20:21). The book closes with a narrative about the tribes east of the Jordan (Jos 22), a warning speech by Joshua (Jos 23), and a renewal at Shechem (Jos 24) of the covenant with the Lord, already affirmed there near the beginning of the conquest (Joshua 8:30-35). Like the books which precede it, the Book of Joshua was built up by a long and complex process of editing traditional materials. Both Jewish and Christian believers have always regarded it as inspired.
The entire history of the conquest of the Promised Land is a prophecy of the spiritual conquest of the world through the Church under the leadership of Jesus the Messiah. - The Book of Joshua may be divided as follows: I. Conquest of Canaan (Joshua 1:1-12:24) II. Division of the Land (Joshua 13:1-21:45) III. Return of the Transjordan Tribes and Joshua's Farewell (Joshua 22:1-24:33) - (NAB)
  • ® Katholische Bibelanstalt GmbH, Stuttgart 1980

  • Headings


    Die Eroberung des Landes: 1,1 - 12,24

    1 Der Befehl zur Besetzung des Westjordanlandes
    2 Die Kundschafter in Jericho
    3 Der Übergang über den Jordan
    4 Die zwölf Gedenksteine
    5 Die Beschneidung in Gilgal
    Der Anführer des Heeres des Herrn
    6 Die Eroberung Jerichos
    7 Der Kampf um Ai. Achans Diebstahl:
    8 Die Vernichtung von Ai
    Der Bau des Altars und die Verkündigung des Gesetzes
    9 Die List der Gibeoniter
    10 Der Krieg mit den fünf Kanaaniter-Königen
    Die Eroberung von sechs Städten
    11 Der Sieg über die Könige im Norden
    Das eroberte Land
    Die Verteilung des Landes: 13,1 - 22,34

    13 Das Land im Westen
    Die Verteilung des Ostjordanlandes
    14 Die Verteilung des Westjordanlandes
    15 Das Gebiet des Stammes Juda
    16 Das Gebiet der Nachkommen Josefs
    18 Das Gebiet der übrigen Stämme
    20 Die Asylstädte
    21 Die Städte für die Leviten
    Die Ruhe in der neu gewonnenen Heimat
    22 Der Altar am Jordan
    Die Verpflichtung auf Jahwe: 23,1 - 24,33

    23 Josuas Rede an das Volk
    24 Die Versammlung des Volkes in Sichem
    Die Grabstätten Josuas, Josefs und Eleasars

    Revised Standard Version (1966) - English
    Nova Vulgata - Latin
    Biblia del Pueblo di Dio (BPD) - Spanish
    Vulgata - Stuttgart 1969 - Latin
    Bíblia Sagrada Ave-Maria (1957) - Portuguese
    La Sainte Bible (Crampon 1904) - French
    CEI (1974) - Italian