Joshua - Revised Standard Version (1966)
The Book of Joshua derives its name from the successor of Moses, with whose deeds it is principally concerned. The purpose of the book is to demonstrate God's fidelity in giving to the Israelites the land he had promised them for an inheritance (Genesis 15:18-20; Joshua 1:2-4; 21:41-43; 23:14-16). Their occupation of the country is begun with the crossing of the Jordan and the conquest of Jericho (Jos 1-6), in both of which the Lord intervenes on their behalf. This is followed by a first foothold on the Palestinian mountain range, at Ai, Bethel, and Gibeon (Jos 7-9), and two sweeping campaigns against the city states in the south of the country (Jos 10) and in the north (Jos 11), with a summary in Jos 12. The broad claim to total sovereignty thus established is spelled out by a combined list of tribal boundaries and of the towns contained within each area or administrative district (Jos 13-19), including cities of asylum and cities for the Levites (Joshua 20:21). The book closes with a narrative about the tribes east of the Jordan (Jos 22), a warning speech by Joshua (Jos 23), and a renewal at Shechem (Jos 24) of the covenant with the Lord, already affirmed there near the beginning of the conquest (Joshua 8:30-35). Like the books which precede it, the Book of Joshua was built up by a long and complex process of editing traditional materials. Both Jewish and Christian believers have always regarded it as inspired.
The entire history of the conquest of the Promised Land is a prophecy of the spiritual conquest of the world through the Church under the leadership of Jesus the Messiah. - The Book of Joshua may be divided as follows: I. Conquest of Canaan (Joshua 1:1-12:24) II. Division of the Land (Joshua 13:1-21:45) III. Return of the Transjordan Tribes and Joshua's Farewell (Joshua 22:1-24:33) - (NAB)


Book of


1 God's Commission to Joshua
Preparations for the Invasion
2 Spies Sent to Jericho
3 Israel Crosses the Jordan
4 Twelve Stones Set Up at Gilgal
5 The New Generation Circumcised
The Passover at Gilgal
Joshua's Vision
6 Jericho Taken and Destroyed
7 The Sin of Achan and Its Punishment
8 Ai Captured by a Stratagem and Destroyed
Joshua Renews the Covenant
9 The Gibeonites Save Themselves by Trickery
10 The Sun Stands Still
Five Kings Defeated
11 The United Kings of Northern Canaan Defeated
Summary of Joshua's Conquests
12 The Kings Conquered by Moses
The Kings Conquered by Joshua
13 The Parts of Canaan Still Unconquered
The Territory East of the Jordan
The Territory of Reuben
The Territory of Gad
The Territory of the Half-Tribe of Manasseh (East)
14 The Distribution of Territory West of the Jordan
Hebron Allotted to Caleb
15 The Territory of Judah
Caleb Occupies His Portion
The Towns of Judah
16 The Territory of Ephraim
17 The Other Half-Tribe of Manasseh (West)
The Tribe of Joseph Protests
18 The Territories of the Remaining Tribes
The Territory of Benjamin
19 The Territory of Simeon
The Territory of Zebulun
The Territory of Issachar
The Territory of Asher
The Territory of Naphtali
The Territory of Dan
Joshua's Inheritance
20 The Cities of Refuge
21 Cities Allotted to the Levites
22 The Eastern Tribes Return to Their Territory
A Memorial Altar East of the Jordan
23 Joshua Exhorts the People
24 The Tribes Renew the Covenant
Death of Joshua and Eleazar

Nova Vulgata - Latin
Biblia del Pueblo di Dio (BPD) - Spanish
Vulgata - Stuttgart 1969 - Latin
BÝblia Sagrada Ave-Maria (1957) - Portuguese
La Sainte Bible (Crampon 1904) - French
CEI (1974) - Italian
Einheits▄bersetzung der Heiligen Sc - German