1Kings - Bíblia Sagrada Ave-Maria (1957)
The two Books of Kings were originally, like 1 Sam; 2 Sam - a single historical work. In conjunction with the Books of Samuel, they extend the consecutive history of Israel from the birth of Samuel to the destruction of Jerusalem in 587 B.C. This combined work is designed as a religious history; hence in Kings the temple, which is the chosen site for the worship of Yahweh, occupies the center of attention. The Books of Kings show clearly the theological bent of a Deuteronomic editor. In them, as already in Judges, material from various sources, such as the "book of the acts of Solomon" (1 Kings 11:41) and the "book of the chronicles of the kings of Israel" (1 Kings 14:19), is forged into structural unity by an editor whose principal interest is in the fidelity to Yahweh of rulers and people. The reigns of individual kings are adapted to an editorial framework consisting of a presentation and an obituary notice for each, in stereotyped formulas. In between, the achievements of the king are reported-above all, his fidelity or lack of fidelity to Yahweh. The faithful prosper; the unfaithful pay for their defections. Since this is basically a narrative of sin and retribution, it would not be inappropriate to entitle the Books of Kings "The Rise and Fall of the Israelite Monarchy." Without minimizing the complexity of the process by which this material was transmitted for many centuries, one may speak of two editions of the Books: the first at some time between 621 B.C. and 597 B.C., and the second, final edition during the Exile; probably shortly after Jehoiachin was released from his Babylonian prison (561 B.C.). 1 Kings carries the history of Israel from the last days and death of David to the accession in Samaria of Ahaziah, son of Ahab, near the end of the reign of Jehoshaphat, king of Judah. Judgment is passed on Ahaziah's reign but the details are given only later, in 2 Kings. We should note the two large cycles of traditions which grew up around the great prophetic figures of Elijah and Elisha, the former in 1 Kings and the latter chiefly in 2 Kings. These cycles, which interrupt the sequence of regnal chronicles, were very probably preserved and transmitted by the prophetic communities to which there are references in the same traditions. The Elijah cycle is the more important since it dramatically underscores Israel's critical struggle with the religion of Canaan. - The principal divisions of the Books of Kings are: I. The Reign of Solomon (1 Kings 1:1-11:43) II. Judah and Israel to the Time of Ahab (1 Kings 12:1-16:34) III. Stories of the Prophets (1 Kings 17:1-22:54) IV. The Kingdoms of Israel and Judah (2 Kings 1:1-17:41) V. The Kingdom of Judah after 721 B.C. (2 Kings 18:1-25:30) - (NAB)

  • Cfr. Bíblia Católica v. 2 - www.bibliacatolica.com.br
  • ® Bíblia Sagrada Ave-Maria, www.avemaria.com.br

  • Headings

    I Livro dos Reis


    Velhice de Davi
    Conspiração de Adonias
    O sucessor de Davi
    Unção de Solomão
    2 Morte de Davi

    Primeiros atos de Salomão
    3 Casamento de Salomão
    Prece de Salomão

    Sentença de Salomão
    4 Oficiais de Salomão
    Prosperidade do reinho
    Sabedoria de Salomão
    5 Aliança com Hirão
    6 Construção do templo
    7 O palácio de Salomão
    As obras de bronze
    Mobília do templo
    8 Transferência da Arca

    Discurso de Salomão
    Prece de Salomão

    9 Aparição de Deus a Salomão
    Decepção de Hirão
    Trabalhos e construções
    A frota real
    10 A rainha de Sabá

    Opulência de Salomão
    11 Idolatria de Salomão

    Inimigos de Salomão

    Morte de Salomão

    12 O cisma das dez tribos

    Novo culto instaurado por Jeroboão

    13 O altar amaldiçoado por um profeta
    Morte do profeta desconhecido
    Adoece e morre o filho de Jeroboão

    14 Reinado de Roboão de Judá
    15 Abião, rei de Judá
    Asa, rei de Judá (911-870)
    Nadab, rei de Israel (910-908)
    Baasa, rei de Israel (908-885)

    16 Ela, rei de Israel (885-884)
    Zambri, rei de Israel (884)
    Amri, rei de Israel (884-873)
    Acab, rei de Israel (873-853)
    17 O profeta Elias
    Elias em casa da viúva de Sarepta

    18 Elias e Acab
    Elias e os profetas de Baal

    19 Elias no monte Horeb

    Vocação de Eliseu
    20 Samaría é sitiada
    Segunda vitória de Acab contra os sírios
    21 Assassínio de Nabot

    22 Guerras de Acab contra os sírios
    Josafá, rei de Judá (870-848)
    Ocozias, rei de Israel (853-852)

    Revised Standard Version (1966) - English
    Nova Vulgata - Latin
    Biblia del Pueblo di Dio (BPD) - Spanish
    Vulgata - Stuttgart 1969 - Latin
    La Sainte Bible (Crampon 1904) - French
    CEI (1974) - Italian
    EinheitsÜbersetzung der Heiligen Sc - German