Judges - Bíblia Sagrada Ave-Maria (1957)
The Book of Judges derives its title from the twelve heroes of Israel whose deeds it records. They were not magistrates, but military leaders sent by God to aid and to relieve his people in time of external danger. They exercised their activities in the interval of time between the death of Joshua and the institution of the monarchy in Israel. Six of them-Othniel, Ehud, Barak, Gideon, Jephthah and Samson-are treated in some detail and have accordingly been styled the Major Judges. The other six, of whose activities this book preserves but a summary record, are called the Minor Judges. There were two other judges, whose judgeships are described in 1 Samuel-Eli and Samuel, who seem to have ruled the entire nation of Israel just before the institution of the monarchy. The twelve judges of the present book, however, very probably exercised their authority, sometimes simultaneously, over one or another tribe of Israel, never over the entire nation. The purpose of the book is to show that the fortunes of Israel depended upon the obedience or disobedience of the people to God's law. Whenever they rebelled against him, they were oppressed by pagan nations; when they repented, he raised up judges to deliver them (cf Judges 2:10-23). The accounts of various events, whether written shortly after their occurrence or orally transmitted, were later skillfully unified according to the moral purpose of the redactor some time during the Israelite monarchy. - The book is divided as follows: I. Palestine after the Death of Joshua (Judges 1:1-3:6) II. Stories of the Judges (Judges 3:7-16:31) III. The Tribes of Dan and Benjamin in the Days of the Judges (Judges 17:1-21:25) - (NAB)

  • Cfr. Bíblia Católica v. 2 - www.bibliacatolica.com.br
  • ® Bíblia Sagrada Ave-Maria, www.avemaria.com.br

  • Headings

    Livro dos Juízes


    1 Difícil conquista de Canaã
    2 Aparição do anjo
    Instituição dos juízes


    Otoniel, Aod e Samgar
    4 Débora, profetiza e juíza
    5 Cântico de Débora
    6 Incursões dos madianitas
    Gedeão chamado pelo anjo
    Gedeão destrói o altar de Baal
    Os milagres do velo
    7 Vitória sobre os madianitas

    8 VItórias na Transjordânia
    Últimos atos de Gedeão
    9 Usurpação de Abimelec

    Revolta em Siquém
    Fim de Abimelec
    10 Tola e Jair, juízes em Israel
    Jefté, juiz em Galaad

    11 Negociações
    O voto de Jefté

    12 Fim da missão de Jefté

    Nascimento de Sansão

    14 Casamento e proezas de Sansão
    15 Luta contra os filisteus

    16 Sansão e Dalila
    Suprema vingança de Sansão
    IV - APÊNDICES (17-20)

    17 Micas e a migração dos danitas

    19 O crime de Gabaa
    20 O castigo
    21 Reabilitação de Benjamim

    Revised Standard Version (1966) - English
    Nova Vulgata - Latin
    Biblia del Pueblo di Dio (BPD) - Spanish
    Vulgata - Stuttgart 1969 - Latin
    La Sainte Bible (Crampon 1904) - French
    CEI (1974) - Italian
    EinheitsÜbersetzung der Heiligen Sc - German