Leviticus - Revised Standard Version (1966)
The name "Leviticus" was bestowed on the third book of the Pentateuch by the ancient Greek translators because a good part of this book consists of sacrificial and other ritual laws prescribed for the priests of the tribe of Levi. Continuing the legislation given by God to Moses at Mount Sinai, Leviticus is almost entirely legislative in character; the rare narrative portions are subordinate to the main legislative theme. Generally speaking, the laws contained in this book serve to teach the Israelites that they should always keep themselves in a state of legal purity, or external sanctity, as a sign of their intimate union with the Lord. Accordingly, the central idea of Leviticus is contained in its oft-repeated injunction: "You shall be holy, because I, the LORD, am holy." - The main divisions of Leviticus are: I. Ritual of Sacrifices (Lev 1-7) II. Ceremony of Ordination (Lev 8-10) III. Laws regarding Legal Purity (Lev 11-16) IV. Code of Legal Holiness (Lev 17-26) V. Redemption of Offerings (Lev 27) - (NAB)


Book of


1 The Burnt Offering
2 Grain Offerings
3 Offerings of Well-Being
4 Sin Offerings
5 Offerings with Restitution
6 Instructions concerning Sacrifices
7 Further Instructions
8 The Rites of Ordination
9 Aaron's Priesthood Inaugurated
10 Nadab and Abihu
11 Clean and Unclean Foods
Unclean Animals
12 Purification of Women after Childbirth
13 Leprosy, Varieties and Symptoms
14 Purification of Lepers and Leprous Houses
15 Concerning Bodily Discharges
16 The Day of Atonement
17 The Slaughtering of Animals
Eating Blood Prohibited
18 Sexual Relations
19 Ritual and Moral Holiness
20 Penalties for Violations of Holiness
21 The Holiness of Priests
22 The Use of Holy Offerings
Acceptable Offerings
23 Appointed Festivals
The Sabbath, Passover, and Unleavened Bread
The Offering of First Fruits
The Festival of Weeks
The Festival of Trumpets
The Day of Atonement
The Festival of Booths
24 The Lamp
The Bread for the Tabernacle
Blasphemy and Its Punishment
25 The Sabbatical Year
The Year of Jubilee
26 Rewards for Obedience
Penalties for Disobedience
27 Votive Offerings

Nova Vulgata - Latin
Biblia del Pueblo di Dio (BPD) - Spanish
Vulgata - Stuttgart 1969 - Latin
BÝblia Sagrada Ave-Maria (1957) - Portuguese
La Sainte Bible (Crampon 1904) - French
CEI (1974) - Italian
Einheits▄bersetzung der Heiligen Sc - German