1Kings - EinheitsÜbersetzung der Heiligen Sc
The two Books of Kings were originally, like 1 Sam; 2 Sam - a single historical work. In conjunction with the Books of Samuel, they extend the consecutive history of Israel from the birth of Samuel to the destruction of Jerusalem in 587 B.C. This combined work is designed as a religious history; hence in Kings the temple, which is the chosen site for the worship of Yahweh, occupies the center of attention. The Books of Kings show clearly the theological bent of a Deuteronomic editor. In them, as already in Judges, material from various sources, such as the "book of the acts of Solomon" (1 Kings 11:41) and the "book of the chronicles of the kings of Israel" (1 Kings 14:19), is forged into structural unity by an editor whose principal interest is in the fidelity to Yahweh of rulers and people. The reigns of individual kings are adapted to an editorial framework consisting of a presentation and an obituary notice for each, in stereotyped formulas. In between, the achievements of the king are reported-above all, his fidelity or lack of fidelity to Yahweh. The faithful prosper; the unfaithful pay for their defections. Since this is basically a narrative of sin and retribution, it would not be inappropriate to entitle the Books of Kings "The Rise and Fall of the Israelite Monarchy." Without minimizing the complexity of the process by which this material was transmitted for many centuries, one may speak of two editions of the Books: the first at some time between 621 B.C. and 597 B.C., and the second, final edition during the Exile; probably shortly after Jehoiachin was released from his Babylonian prison (561 B.C.). 1 Kings carries the history of Israel from the last days and death of David to the accession in Samaria of Ahaziah, son of Ahab, near the end of the reign of Jehoshaphat, king of Judah. Judgment is passed on Ahaziah's reign but the details are given only later, in 2 Kings. We should note the two large cycles of traditions which grew up around the great prophetic figures of Elijah and Elisha, the former in 1 Kings and the latter chiefly in 2 Kings. These cycles, which interrupt the sequence of regnal chronicles, were very probably preserved and transmitted by the prophetic communities to which there are references in the same traditions. The Elijah cycle is the more important since it dramatically underscores Israel's critical struggle with the religion of Canaan. - The principal divisions of the Books of Kings are: I. The Reign of Solomon (1 Kings 1:1-11:43) II. Judah and Israel to the Time of Ahab (1 Kings 12:1-16:34) III. Stories of the Prophets (1 Kings 17:1-22:54) IV. The Kingdoms of Israel and Judah (2 Kings 1:1-17:41) V. The Kingdom of Judah after 721 B.C. (2 Kings 18:1-25:30) - (NAB)
  • ® Katholische Bibelanstalt GmbH, Stuttgart 1980

  • Headings


    Das erste Buch der Könige
    Die Geschichte Salomos: 1,1 - 11,43

    1 Der Kampf um die Nachfolge Davids
    Die Bestellung Salomos zum Thronfolger
    Die Thronbesteigung Salomos
    2 Davids letzte Anordnungen und sein Tod
    Das Ende der Gegner Salomos
    3 Salomos Bitte um Weisheit
    Das salomonische Urteil
    4 Die Verwaltung des Reiches
    Die Weisheit Salomos
    Die Vorbereitungen zum Tempelbau
    5 Die Weisheit Salomos
    Die Vorbereitungen zum Tempelbau
    7 Die Ausstattung des Tempels
    8 Die Übertragung der Bundeslade
    Die Ansprache des Königs
    Das Weihegebet
    Salomos Segen
    Der Abschluss der Feier
    9 Die Verheißung für den Tempel
    Verschiedene Nachrichten über Salomo
    10 Die Königin von Saba
    Salomos Reichtum
    11 Salomos Bundesbruch
    Ankündigung des Gerichts
    Salomos Gegner
    Salomos Tod
    Die Geschichte der getrennten ReicheErster Teil: 12,1-22,54

    12 Der Abfall der zehn Nordstämme
    Jerobeam I. von Israel
    Die religiöse Trennung
    13 Der ungehorsame Gottesmann
    14 Das kranke Kind Jerobeams
    Jerobeams Tod
    Rehabeam von Juda
    15 Abija von Juda
    Asa von Juda
    Nadab von Israel
    Bascha von Israel
    16 Ela von Israel
    Simri von Israel
    Omri von Israel
    Ahab von Israel
    17 Elija in Sarepta
    18 Das Gottesurteil auf dem Karmel
    19 Elija am Horeb
    Neue Aufträge
    Die Berufung Elischas
    20 Aramäerkriege
    21 Nabots Weinberg
    22 Der Krieg mit den Aramäern, Ahabs Tod
    Joschafat von Juda
    Ahasja von Israel

    Revised Standard Version (1966) - English
    Nova Vulgata - Latin
    Biblia del Pueblo di Dio (BPD) - Spanish
    Vulgata - Stuttgart 1969 - Latin
    Bíblia Sagrada Ave-Maria (1957) - Portuguese
    La Sainte Bible (Crampon 1904) - French
    CEI (1974) - Italian